First Week

“Ja, jeg er stadig i live , bare øm”

Yes, I am still alive, just sore.

Hey everyone, sorry it’s been a week. My goal has been to try to blog as much as I could but Ollerup has definitely been a busy place. To be honest my first day here was not the best. When I arrived I saw all these people in groups, smiling, laughing, and appearing that they knew each other for years. I felt like an outsider since I came to a place that, yes they can speak English, but also a language I far from understood. I didn’t think they would, but they could pretty say anything they wanted about me and I not understanding. It kind of reminded me of Berea and the international students there. I  never realized how they truly felt until I was around people talking a foreign language and in a foreign country. Most of the international students are nice and have amazing students about their country. A lot of them speak Spanish so honestly it’s kind of hard to understand them as much as the Danes. But still my advice to everyone who meets international people: be nice, make them feel welcomed, and learn about them and their country. 

Most of my first day was staying quiet, trying not to bother anyone and just not be in the way. Like I said, I felt unbelonged. As the days progressed it really didn’t get much better until I went to my first dance class. Dance is a way that a person can talk with their body and not have to speak a word. We had a substitute this week so I still don’t know how my actual teacher will be like but the sub was great. We played lots of games and did a little ballet. The games were name games and does anyone know how hard it is to say Danish names haha Hmm, kind of VERY hard! The class has made me feel a lot better though and gave me my confidence I needed. I have been meeting some really great people here and I continue to do so.

This week has been a introduction week so every class I’ve been in has been mostly introduction and getting to know one another. They have had a lot of hygge time which means creating a warm atmosphere and enjoying the good things in life with good people. I have played games I’ve never played and haven’t exercised this much in a while! Like I said before, I’m alive but sore haha. The food here has been um… super healthy here compared to U.S.A. Lots of salads here, but it has actually been really good 🙂 Overall this week has been like an elevator with it’s ups and downs but I’m doing well.

Finally, last night we had our first party, kind of a welcome to the school, you survived your first week 😉 The whole school helped set it up, we had music, dance floor, really good food, and a lot of hygge time. There are a few people here who have been extra nice and have really made me feel welcome as a part of the family. I’m not the biggest party animal but their were a few folks who asked me to join in their groups and I had really good talks with them.

Each and everyone has their stories and I have been so happy to hear them so far. They open a new world before your eyes which is so cool. Overall this school has been good, healthy food, and a lot of fitness. Who knows, maybe when I come back I’ll be fit like a Dane haha I’m not when I’ll get to post again  but I will try my best to keep everyone updated :).

11885074_863525947035404_7479441471382626676_nThe international students this year at Ollerup.

Leave a comment